Join the Library Board of Trustees!

The Chemung County Library District is a municipality established by the voters in November 2005 to provide exceptional public library services and programs to all of the citizens of Chemung County. The District is governed by a Board of Trustees elected to represent the fifteen districts whose boundaries are identical to the Chemung County Legislative Districts. Board members are elected on a non-partisan basis.

With the coming general election, the public will have the opportunity to elect Library District trustees from five districts and petitions from interested candidates from these five districts are now solicited. The following is a list of vacancies (the district and term of office):

2nd District – Big Flats – 1/1/2022 to 12/31/2024
7th District – Town of Elmira – 1/1/2022 to 12/31/2024
11th District – City of Elmira – 1/1/2022 to 12/31/2024
12th District – Elmira, Southport – 1/1/2022 to 12/31/2024
15th District – Ashland, Wellsburg, Southport – 1/1/2022 to 12/31/2024

Nominating petitions may be downloaded here or acquired from the Business Office of the Chemung County Library District (733-8607) at the Steele Memorial Library, 101 East Church Street, Elmira. Email: Completed petitions must be submitted to the Business Office, at the Steele Memorial Library by Monday, September 13th, 2021 at 3pm for inclusion on the election ballot.