Election of representatives to the Library District Board of Trustees

The Chemung County Library District is a municipality established by the voters in November 2005 to provide exceptional public library services and programs to all of the citizens of Chemung County.  The District is governed by a Board of Trustees elected to represent the fifteen districts whose boundaries are identical to the Chemung County Legislative Districts.  Board members are elected on a non-partisan basis.

With the coming general election, the public will have the opportunity to elect Library District trustees from five districts and petitions from interested candidates from these five districts are now solicited.  The following table lists, for each vacancy, the district and term of office.

Library Legislative District Term of office
2nd District – Big Flats 1/1/2019 to 12/31/2021
7th District –  Town of Elmira 1/1/2019 to 12/31/2021
11th District- City of Elmira 1/1/2019 to 12/31/2021
12th District -Town of Southport 1/1/2019 to 12/31/2021
15th District  Ashland,  Wellsburg 1/1/2019 to 12/31/2021

Nominating petitions may be acquired from the Business Office of the Chemung County Library District (733-8607) at the Steele Memorial Library. They can also be downloaded here. Completed petitions must be submitted to the Business Office, Chemung County Library District at the Steele Memorial Library by Friday, September 14th, 2018 at 3pm for inclusion on the election ballot.