Election of representatives to the Library District Board of Trustees

The Chemung County Library District is a municipality established by the voters in November 2005 to provide exceptional public library services and programs to all of the citizens of Chemung County.  The District is governed by a Board of Trustees elected to represent the fifteen districts whose boundaries are identical to the Chemung County Legislative Districts.   Board members are elected on a non-partisan basis.

With the coming general election, the public will have the opportunity to elect Library District Trustees from six districts.  The District is seeking interested residents of the listed districts to serve on the Library District Board.  Petitions are required and potential candidates from these six districts are now solicited.  The following table lists, for each vacancy, the District, and term of office:

Library Legislative District Term of Office
1st  District – Catlin, Veteran 1/1/2018 to 12/31/2020
5th  District – Town of Horseheads 1/1/2018 to 12/31/2020
6th District – Chemung 1/1/2018 to 12/31/2020
10th District – Elmira 1/1/2018 to 12/31/2020
14th District – Southport 1/1/2018 to 12/31/2020
12th District – Elmira Southside 1/1/2018 to 12/31/2018

Nominating petitions may be acquired from the Business Office of the Chemung County Library District (733-8607) at the Steele Memorial Library, 101 East Church Street, Elmira.  They may also be downloaded here. Completed petitions must be submitted to the Business Office, Chemung County Library District at the Steele Memorial Library by Monday, August 28, 2017 at 3pm for inclusion on the election ballot.